Wassenaar Agreement Countries

The Wassenaar agreement is based on a political agreement. It is not directed against a country or region. Currently, 42 states are participating in the Wassenaar arrangement. The twelfth plenary session on 5 and 6 December in Vienna celebrated the va`s tenth anniversary and was chaired by Australian Ambassador Peter Shannon. Parliament has successfully adopted a number of checklist changes, while expressing a desire to establish a dialogue with the VA panel and the missile technology control regime to improve the regime`s ability to keep pace with the progress of technologies, market trends and international security. In addition, the plenary decided to make available to the public two best practices for Implementing Intangible Transfers of Technology Controls and Best Practice Guidelines for the Licensing of Its Licensing on the Basic List and Sensitive List of Dual-Use Goods and Technologies – to complement the plenary agreement to maintain a high priority for transparency and contact with non-participating states and international organisations to promote strengthening export controls. Membership is universal and non-discriminatory for countries that meet the criteria: VA countries carry out effective export controls on the points on the agreed lists, which are regularly reviewed to take account of technological developments and experience. Through transparency and the exchange of opinions and information, suppliers of dual-use weapons and goods can develop a common understanding of the risks associated with their transfer and assess the coordination possibilities of national control policies to combat these risks. Participating States strive, through their national policies, to ensure that arms transfers and dual-use goods and technologies do not contribute to the development or enhancement of military capabilities that compromise international and regional security and stability and are not diverted to support these capabilities. The agreement does not impede good faith civil transactions and does not target a state or group of states. All measures taken under the agreement are in line with the national laws and policies of the Member States and are implemented on the basis of national discretion. Ambassador Sune Danielsson Head of The Telephone Secretariat: (43-1) 960 03 Fax: (43-1) 960 031 or 032 Email: [email protected] Website: www.wassenaar.org May, the U.S.

Government`s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) proposed the implementation of the agreements reached at the December 2013 plenary session for the implementation of the Wassenaar Agreement , concluded when the HLM was set up on 19 December 1995. was announced by a declaration at the Peace Palace in The Hague. At that time, a consensus was also reached on the establishment of the secretariat in Vienna and on the establishment of a preparatory committee of the whole to prepare for the first plenary session. The Wassenaar Agreement on The Control of Exports of Conventional Weapons and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies is a multilateral export control regime (MECR) with 42 participating states, including many former EAC (Warsaw Pact) countries.